SPACE 2012

The Call for Papers is also available in PDF.

SPACE is an annual international conference covering various aspects of security, privacy, applied cryptography, and cryptographic engineering. SPACE 2012 is organized by IIT Madras in cooperation with IACR (International Association for Cryptologic Research) and in association with SETS (Society for Electronic Transactions and Security). Original papers are invited on any aspect that SPACE 2012 covers. The core topics of SPACE 2012 include but are not limited to the following:

Symmetric-key algorithms and cryptanalysis Cryptographic implementations
Side channel analysis and countermeasuresFault tolerance of cryptosystems
Physically uncloneable functionsPublic-key schemes and cryptanalysis
Analysis and design of security protocolsSecurity of systems and applications
High-performance computing in cryptologyCryptography in ubiquitous devices
Trusted computingAnonymity and privacy
Data base securityOperating system security
Cloud and grid security Network security, botnets, intrusion detection
Program Committee
  • Rafael Accorsi, University of Freiburg (Germany)
  • Toru Akishita, Sony Corporation (Japan)
  • Elena Andreeva, COSIC (Leuven)
  • Rajat Subhra Chakraborty, IIT Kharagpur (India)
  • Carlos Cid, Royal Holloway, University of London (UK)
  • Donghoon Chang, NIST (US)
  • Abhijit Das, IIT Kharagpu (India)
  • Kris Gaj, George Mason University (US)
  • Craig Gentry, IBM Watson Research Center (US)
  • Dieter Gollmann, TUHH (Germany)
  • Johann Grossschaedl, University of Luxembourg (Luxembourg)
  • Tim Gueneysu, Ruhr University Bochum (Germany)
  • Tibor Jager, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany)
  • Marc Joye, Technicolor (France)
  • Stefan Katzenbeisser, TU Darmstadt (Germany)
  • Ilya Kizhvatov, Riscure (The Netherlands)
  • Cetin Koc, UCSB (US)
  • Tanja Lange, TU Eindhoven (The Netherlands)
  • Gregor Leander, DTU Mathematics (Denmark)
  • Kerstin Lemke-Rust, FH Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (Germany)
  • Dongdai Lin, Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)
  • Keith Martin, Royal Holloway, University of London (UK)
  • Debdeep Mukhopadhyay, IIT Kharagpur (India)
  • David Naccache, ENS Paris (France)
  • Arpita Patra, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
  • Joachim Posegga, University of Passau (Germany)
  • Bart Preneel, KU Leuven (Belgium)
  • Francesco Regazzoni, University of Lugano (Switzerland)
  • Vincent Rijmen, TU Graz (Austria) and KU Leuven (Belgium)
  • Matt Robshaw, Orange (France)
  • Bimal Roy, ISI Kolkata (India)
  • Pierangela Samarati, University of Milan (Italy)
  • Sumanta Sarkar, University of Calgary (Canada)
  • Martijn Stam, University of Bristol (UK)
  • Francesco-Xavier Standaert, UCL (Belgium)
  • Berk Sunar, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (US)
  • Michael Tunstall, University of Bristol (UK)
  • Gilles Van Assche, STMicroelectronics (Belgium)
  • Bo-Yin Yang, Academia Sinica (Taiwan)
  • Jianying Zhou, Institute for Infocomm Research (Singapore)
Conference Organizers Chairs
C. Pandurangan, IIT Madras (Hon. General Chair)
S. Burman, CAIR Bangalore (General Chair)Andrey Bogdanov, KU Leuven (Belgium)
V. Kamakoti, IIT Madras (General Chair)Somitra Sanadhya, IIIT Delhi (India)
S. Balachandran, IIT Madras (Organizing Chair)
Swarup Bhunia, Case Western Reserve University, USA (Publicity Chair)
Important Dates
Submission deadline: July 3, 2012, 23:59 GMT
Acceptance notification:August 17, 2012
Final version due:August 31, 2012
Conference presentations:November 2-3, 2012
Instructions for Authors

Authors are invited to submit original papers via electronic submission. Details of the electronic submission procedure will be posted on the conference webpage. The submission must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgements, or obvious references. It should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The paper should be at most 12 pages (excluding the bibliography and clearly marked appendices), and at most 18 pages in total, using at least 11-point font and reasonable margins. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. All submissions will be blindrefereed. Only original research contributions will be considered. Submissions which substantially duplicate work that any of the authors have published elsewhere, or have submitted in parallel to any other conferences or workshops that have proceedings, will be instantly rejected. The IACR Policy on Irregular Submissions ( will be strictly enforced.

Conference Proceedings

Proceedings will be published in Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Springer. The 1st edition of the conference was titled InfoSecHiComNet 2011 and was published in Springer LNCS series. Accepted papers should follow the LNCS author instructions In order to be included in the proceedings, the authors of an accepted paper must guarantee to present their contribution at the conference.

Location and Stay

The conference will be held at SETS Campus, Chennai. The city of Chennai is one of the major cities in the southern part of India and is well connected by international and domestic flights as well as trains and buses from all over India. Every attempt will be made to accommodate the delegates attending the conference within IIT Madras campus or nearby places. Information about travel and stay will be updated on the conference website.


For any further clarification, please mail: V. Kamakoti and S. Burman ( and or Andrey Bogdanov and Somitra Sanadhya ( and