Workshop VIII:

Side Channels in Cryptography
Debdeep Mukhopadhyay
Speaker: Debdeep Mukhopadhyay
Security is ubiquitous. With the advent of ecommerce and electronic transactions, the need for development of secured systems has grown tremendously. However history has taught us that designing strong cryptographic algorithms is just the beginning. Although the internal algorithms are robust against conventional cryptanalysis, the implementations of the ciphers may leak valuable secret information, through covert channels commonly referred to as side channels. The side channels can be in the form of time required, power consumed, behavior under faults and several others. The tutorial starts with the understanding of how side channels can be exploited for knowing the secret key in ciphers. We explain various forms of side channel attacks, namely simple and differential power analysis scan chain attacks, fault analysis, timing attacks using cache architectures with respect to the implementations of state of the art encryption algorithms. We shall then cover possible countermeasures against the above forms of attacks.
About the speaker:
Debdeep Mukhopadhyay received his BTech degree from the Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Kharagpur, India. Subsequently, he obtained his MS and PhD from Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Kharagpur. He has worked as an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Madras and is presently working as an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Kharagpur. He has served as a visiting researcher at NYU-Poly, USA under Indo-US Fellowship (IUSSTF 2012) in the summer. His research interests include Cryptography, VLSI of Cryptographic Algorithms and Side Channel Analysis. He is the recipient of the Indian Semiconductor Association (ISA) TechnoInventor award for best PhD thesis (2008), Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Young Scientist Award (2010), Indian National Academy of Engineers (INAE) Young Engineer Award (2010), Associate of Indian Academy of Science (2011), outstanding Young Faculty fellowship (2011), and IUSSTF fellowship (2012).