... somewhere something incredible is waiting to be known.

Biosketch and Research Interests

Current Position: Assistant Professor, Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Kharagpur.
Before joining IIT Kharagpur, I was a Scientist at Yahoo! Labs Bangalore, and a visiting scholar at the Helsinki University of Technology.

I have a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Indian Insitute of Science, Bangalore , and M.Tech. in Computer Science from I.S.I. Kolkata and a B.Tech. from I.I.T. Roorkee .

I am broadly interested in Machine Learning, with specific interests in Explainability and Data-centric AI, Multi-task Learning, Learning with Temporal Point Processes, Network Representation Learning, and Scalable Machine Learning.

I have applied these techniques on problems in Computer Vision, Information Extraction, Opinion Dynamics and Sentiment Analysis, Computational Advertising, Health Informatics, Natural Language Processing, Web and Online Social Networks.


New Preprint: Checkout our latest paper on CheckSel: Efficient and Accurate Data-valuation Through Online Checkpoint Selection, authors: Soumi Das, Manasvi Sagarkar, Suparna Bhattacharya, Sourangshu Bhattacharya, at: https://arxiv.org/abs/2203.06814

Paper and code release: AR-BERT: Aspect-relation enhanced Aspect-level Sentiment Classification with Multi-modal Explanations. Sk Mainul Islam and Sourangshu Bhattacharya TheWebConf 2022.
Paper link
Code available at: https://github.com/mainuliitkgp/AR-BERT.git

Courses this semester (Spring 2020-21): Software Engineering (Theory+Lab) (jointly with Prof. Partha Pratim Das and Prof. Abir Das) and Foundations of Algorithm Design and Machine Learning.

Paper acceptance: TMCOSS: Thresholded Multi-Criteria Online Subset Selection for Data-Efficient Autonomous Driving. Soumi Das, Harikrishna Patibandla, Suparna Bhattacharya, Kshounis Bera, Niloy Ganguly, and Sourangshu Bhattacharya. ICCV 2021.
Paper link

Paper acceptance: Finding High-Value Training Data Subset through Differentiable Convex Programming. Soumi Das, Arshdeep Singh, Saptarshi Chatterjee, Suparna Bhattacharya, and Sourangshu Bhattacharya. ECML 2021
Paper Link